BUZZ CHRONICLES > POLITICS Saved by @Alex1Powell See On Twitter

Twitter Thread by Ashlin Mathew



Ashlin Mathew @ashlinpmathew



LDF-UDF:

Why did Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan (PV) say what he did about IUML?

Even in 2016 when LDF won, <u>@iumlofficial</u> /UDF won 18 seats from Malabar/North Kerala area. Note that LDF has only 9 Muslim names within its list of MLAs.

PV has always been attempting to break the UDF-IUML unity and influence in North Kerala region.

As the CPM secretary, he attempted to split the votes by supporting Madani, Indian National League (a breakaway faction of IUML), KT Jaleel (an ind).

Madani is now in jail.



Don't believe? In 2009, the LDF candidate in Ponnani was Madani nominee – Hussian Randathani. He lost to ET Muhammed Basheer.

A group of people within IUML had the party for not being angry and fierce enough in the aftermath of the Babri incident. They wanted IUML to breakaway from the Congress. When IUML did not, they broke away and formed INL. It was led by Ibrahim Sulaiman Sait.

INL has 1 MLA – PTA Rahim - in Assembly & they are part of LDF. PTA Rahim was with IUML. Left it. Joined hands with the Left in 2005 to win Panchayat polls. Defeated K Muraleedharan in Koduvally with help of LDF. Formed his own Party – National Secular Conference. Then joined INL

V Abdurahiman was with the Congress. He left them in 2014 to contest LS polls as an LDF independent. He defeated ET Muhammed Basheer. In 2016, he contested as an LDF Independent candidate and won. He abused tribals in the latest press conference

Then we have KT Jaleel, who was with IUML. He was thrown out due to differences and since 2006 he has contested as an LDF independent. He has won every election since then and is the minister who has also been named in the #GoldSmuggling scandal in Kerala

That brings us to PV Anwar, who was with KSU and Congress. Later, he has had beef with both CPI and Congress. He then contested against both CPI and Congress candidates with the support of CPI(M) in 2011. Lost. He eventually won an Assembly seat as an LDF independent in 2016.

Karat Razack was a prominent IUML leader, but he was denied tickets in 2011, 2016. He then contested as an LDF independent. He won. But Kerala HC disqualified his election, but the order has been partially stayed.

Only four – AM Shamser, Mameed Koya, AC Moideen and KV Abdul Khader – have roots in Left politics. Other five have come from either IUML or <u>@INCKerala.</u>

PV and LDF, who were accusing Welfare Party of India of extremism, had tied up with them in 2015 for Panchayat polls.

End



കഴിഞ്ഞ തദ്ദേശ തെരഞ്ഞെടുപ്പിൽ മുക്കം നഗരസഭയിൽ നിന്ന് വിജയിച്ച വെൽഫെയർ പാർട്ടി, സി.പി.എം സ്ഥാനാർഥികൾ സംയുക്തമായി നടത്തിയ ആഹ്ലാദ പ്രകടനം