Twitter Thread by Itishree @





Dasa Mahavidya (

The ten major Devis of Great Wisdoms are a group of 10 aspects of Adishakti in Shaktism.



The 10 Mahavidyas are

Kali, Tara, Tripura Sundari (Shodoshi), Bhuvaneshvari, Tripura Bhairavi, Chhinnamasta, Dhumavati, Bagalamukhi, Matangi & Kamala.

In Tantra, worship of Devi-Shakti is referred to as a Vidya. Of the hundreds of tantrik practices, the worship of these 10 major Devis is called the Dasa Mahavidya.

According to Devi Maha Bhagavata creation of Mahavidyas is associated with Devi sati & Daksha's Yagna.

After futile attempts to convince Shiva, the enraged Sati transforms into the Mahavidyas, who surround Shiva from the ten cardinal directions.